• slide 1

  • slide1b

  • slide2b

  • slide3b

  • slide4

Welcome to the Resurgence Poetry Prize 2017

The World's First Major Award for Ecopoetry


1st Prize: Rob Miles

2nd: Dom Bury

3rd: Majella Kelly

About the Competition

The Resurgence Poetry Prize is the world’s first major ecopoetry award. Three prizes will be awarded each year for original and previously unpublished ecopoems in English.  All details are on the Rules page.

With a first prize of £5,000 for the best single poem embracing ecological themes, the award ranks amongst the highest of any English language single poem competition. Second prize is £2,000 and third prize £1,000.

Prize Founders

founders 2Founded in the spring of 2014 by the former UK Poet Laureate Sir Andrew Motion, actress and green campaigner Joanna Lumley, and entrepreneur and environmentalist Peter Phelps, the Resurgence Poetry Prize reflects the founders’ shared passion for and commitment to poems that investigate and challenge the interrelationship between nature and human culture (more here).

In Association With

resurgence coversThe Prize operates under the auspices of the Resurgence Trust, publishers of Resurgence & Ecologist magazine. The Poetry Archive, and the environmental charity Earth Restoration Service, are also associated with the Prize. The Prize is governed by an executive board appointed by Resurgence Trust which includes long-term peace and environment activist Satish Kumar, the Founders and other representatives, and which is chaired by Sir Andrew Motion. Peter Phelps is the Prize’s Executive Director, responsible for the overall management and development of the competition.

Official Sponsors

The Curious Arts Festival, Official Sponsors of the Resurgence Poetry Prize, was set-up to establish local events on an international scale with the aim of bringing together writers, artists and musicians in a unique way to connect the mainstream with the maverick. Events take place in beautiful surroundings where the brilliant line-up combines with delicious food and drink to create for their festival visitors an unforgettable weekend experience.