All three finalists and seven runners up of the Resurgence Poetry Prize 2015 were female poets, it was revealed by the competition’s cofounder, Joanna Lumley, to the select audience attending the Prize’s award ceremony at the Leighton House Museum in London on Tuesday evening, 15 December 2015.

The Prize is the world’s major eco-poetry award.  The awards are made each year for original and previously unpublished poems in English which embrace ecological themes. With total prize money of £8,000, the award ranks amongst the highest of any English language single poem competition.

The Prize’s stature is reflected in the senior nature of this year’s judging panel of Sir Andrew Motion, Jo Shapcott and Alice Oswald.

Chairman of the judges, the former Poet Laureate, Sir Andrew Motion, praised the winning poem, Auguries, by Luisa Igloria, a well published and already award winning Filipina American poet, for its ‘authenticity, intensity and cohesion’. The winner collected an award of £5,000.

‘Overall, as a judging panel we we’re impressed with the excellent standard of the poems submitted’ said Sir Andrew. ‘Poetry has always played a critical role in reflecting the preoccupations of each age, and few would argue that our planet’s ecological integrity is one of the major issues of our time’, he said.

Second prize of £2,000 was awarded to Claire Collison for The Architect, and third prize of £1,000 to Meredi Ortega for her poem Moving into Hannah’s House.


Back: 1st Prize winner Luisa Igloria and Joanna Lumley. Front, from left: Sir Andrew Motion, 3rd Prize winner Meredi Ortega, Jo Shapcott, Satish Kumar and 2nd Prize winner Claire Collison.

2015 Awards Evening

The Winning Poems


site 1st c


site 2nd b


site 3rd b


(In alphabetical order)




fen again

robin interlude

snow rules



Note to recipients of the Winners’ Anthology: Our apologies to Ruth Wiggins for the change in her poem shape in the printed version, this was due to a software error.  The version above is her intended shape.



tiny death ritual



1 Comment

  1. Luisa A. Igloria – The Compass Magazine
    August 12, 2016

    […] A. Igloria is the winner of the 2015 Resurgence Prize, the world’s first major award for ecopoetry, selected by former UK poet laureate Sir Andrew […]